Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for May 6th, 2009

I am not going to be posting as regularly in the next ten days or so as I will be devoting my time to teaching other men of  God in an intense one week seminar. 

However, I will be drawing some attention to some articles around the web that I think will strengthen you in the grace of our Lord and Savior Jesus Christ.

So, don’t go away.  Visit the site!  And Lord willing,  I will post when I can but not as regularly as I might.

Read Full Post »

Paul Tripp has his first blog post in over a year!  And it is a “good” one.  Looks like he is going to be meditating on Psalm 73 next.  Here’s an excerpt:

When you read the words, “God is good,” your heart should be filled with wonder, amazement, gratitude, humility, and love. Or to capture what our response should be in one word; AWE. Now, this is where the problem lies. I am convinced that many of us live day after day without any awe whatsoever. We live days, maybe even weeks, without wonder and amazement. We walk through the situations and locations of our daily lives without an overwhelming sense of gratitude.

Read the rest here. Good food for the soul!

Read Full Post »

Here are ten questions for self-examination regarding keeping the unity of the Spirit in the bond of peace (Ephesianns 4:3).  How are you doing?

  • Am I living a life that is consistent with the gospel that has saved me? (Ephesians 4:1)
  • Do I have the same passion for unity that Christ has? Do I pray regularly for unity?  (John 17:20-21)
  • Am I focusing on Christ’s primary goals for His church  or am I wasting energy on secondary issues?
  • Am I regularly thanking God for and meditating on the truths of my encouragement from being in Christ, the comfort of God’s love, the fellowship with the Spirit and Christ’s affection and sympathy? (Philippians 2:1)
  • Am I seeking to bring joy to church leadership by obeying and submitting to them? (Hebrews 13:17; 1 Thessalonians 5:12-15)
  • Am I attempting to think the things of God, of Christ, and of the Spirit, by being saturated with the Word and being filled with the Spirit (Colossians 3:16; Ephesians 5:18)
  • Am I sacrificially serving others?  (Philippians 2:2)
  • Am I trying to promote unity in the Spirit and in purpose within the church? (Philippians 2:2)
  • Am I selfish and conceited? Am I regarding others more important than myself? Am I looking out for the interest of others? (Philippians 2:3-4)
  • Am I demonstrating a godly attitude toward others in the body of Christ (Philippians 2:5)

Read Full Post »

To study the Scriptures, you need a a disciplined mind, a holy affection for God and the divine assistance of the Holy Spirit.

First,  a disciplined mind  means that you have a  love for learning and insatiable thirst for the doctrines of Scripture.  Once you learn something you want to organize what you learn and correlate it with what you already know.  This also involves the discipline to not go beyond what is written:  To be content to think God’s thoughts after Him.

Secondly, develop a holy affection for God and His Word. Jesus commanded us, ““You shall love the Lord your God with all your heart and with all your soul and with all your mind.” (Matthew 22:37, ESV).  A holy love for God cries out,  “Oh how I love your law! It is my meditation all the day.” (Psalm 119:97, ESV).

And finally,  you need divine illumination which allows you to understand the meaning and appreciate the significance of the text throughout your life.  Paul prayed, “Having the eyes of your hearts enlightened, that you may know what is the hope to which he has called you, what are the riches of his glorious inheritance in the saints,” (Ephesians 1:18, ESV).

The ultimate aim of knowing the Scriptures is to know and love God.  May we learn His truth and may this truth stir up a greater desire to know and love God more.

“Thus says the Lord: “Let not the wise man boast in his wisdom, let not the mighty man boast in his might, let not the rich man boast in his riches, but let him who boasts boast in this, that he understands and knows me, that I am the Lord who practices steadfast love, justice, and righteousness in the earth. For in these things I delight, declares the Lord.”” (Jeremiah 9:23-24, ESV).

Read Full Post »