Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for April 24th, 2011

Then go to Christianity Explored where you will find a video explaining the essence of Christianity, some credible answers to some tough questions regarding the Bible, suffering, Jesus, and science.  Much more at that site.

Know a friend who is questioning the truth.  Send them here as well.

Read Full Post »

Never forget God’s mercy

John Newton, who had a wretched life before God saved him, never forgot God’s mercy to him.

“Once, a friend was complaining about someone who was resistant to the gospel and living a life of great sin. “Sometimes I almost despair of that man,” the friend remarked.

“I never did despair of any man since God saved me,” said Newton.

In his most advanced years Newton’s mind began to fail and he had to stop preaching. When friends came to visit him he frequently remarked, “I am an old man. My mind is almost gone. But I can remember two things: I am a great sinner, and Jesus is a great Savior.” Certainly the mercy of God moved Newton to offer his body as a living sacrifice to God and to seek to please him.”

Psalms, p. 1093-1094 by James Montgomery Boice

Have you forgotten God’s mercy today?

Read Full Post »

From Refocusing Our Eyes

Dr. Helen Roseveare was an English Christian missionary to the Congo from 1953 to 1973. In 1964, she was taken prisoner by rebel forces and remained a prisoner for five months, during which time she endured brutal beatings and assaulted.

In her own words:

They found me, dragged me to my feet struck me over head and shoulders, flung me on the ground, kicked me, dragged me to my feet only to strike me again—the sickening searing pain of a broken tooth, a mouth full of sticky blood, my glasses gone.  Beyond sense, numb with horror and unknown fear, driven , dragged, pushed back to my own house—yelled at, insulted, cursed…

Through the brutal heartbreaking experience of rape, God met with me – with outstretched arms of love. It was an unbelievable experience: He was so utterly there, so totally understanding, his comfort was so complete – and suddenly I knew – I really knew that his love was unutterably sufficient. He did love me! He did understand!

He understood not only my desperate misery but also my awakened desires and mixed up horror of emotional trauma. I knew that Philippians 4:19, “My God will supply every need of yours according to his riches in glory in Christ Jesus,” was true on all levels, not just on a hyper-spiritual shelf where I had tried to relegate it….He was actually offering me the inestimable privilege of sharing in some little way in the fellowship of His sufferings.

The grace that was given her was that she was enabled to thank God for trusting her with such an experience, even if He never explained “why.”

She states:

I have looked back and tried “to count the cost,” but I find it all swallowed up in privilege. The cost suddenly seems very small and transient in the greatness and permanence of the privilege.

Listen to this testimony of God’s sustaining grace and to a precious saint of God, of whom this world is not worthy.

Click here to view.


Read Full Post »

Steve Dewitt shares fifteen characteristics including:

He looked like a normal human

He didn’t look like a toad or elephant or an angel. He looked human. So much so that on the road to Emmaus, the two disciples were mystified that he didn’t know the local news. His body shape and appearance were distinctly human.

He was the same gender as his pre-resurrection self

He wasn’t resurrected a woman, but a man. We rightly assume this to be the case for all of us. There is no marriage in the future kingdom but there is sexuality and gender. We retain that as it is part of God’s good creation.

He looked like his pre-resurrection self

When he appeared to the disciples in the locked upper room, nobody said, Who is this guy? They all knew who he was. They didn’t need to see the scars. It was the guy who hadn’t seen him that required that.

Read the rest of Steve’s list here. 

Read Full Post »

With help from Craig Blomberg’s excellent Jesus and the Gospels, Justin Taylor provides a reconstruction of events on Easter Sunday. This is my final installment in the Holy Week series.

Read Full Post »