Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for February 1st, 2013

A round-up of articles that might encourage you as you review the resolutions you made at the beginning of this year and chart your progress

How Are Those New Years Resolutions:  contains this reminder from David Powlison:  ““God himself has resolved to do us good. He has made a resolution from all eternity that He will show us an effectual mercy.”

5 Tips to Actually Keep a Resolution or Two:  This article includes choosing some attainable and specific goals along with incorporating a weekly review. Very practical.

13 Things I Need to Get Better At:  Probably each of us should make a list like this. Truth is many of the things in our list might be the same things in this list.

My Simple Ministry Resolutions for the New Year: I appreciated this pastor’s list–but many of his resolutions aren’t just applicable to pastors–every Christian can work on some of these areas.

Read Full Post »

Thabit Anyawbile shares how even though he resolved to share the gospel often this year, he struggled in his first 30 days. And even when he did share the gospel, it took an enormous amount of effort to overcome his fear of man.  I think most of us will be able to relate to his experience so read the whole article which begins this way:

I began this year with a desire to be a better personal evangelist. By God’s grace, I’ve preached the gospel each Sunday I’ve been in the pulpit. But I don’t want my evangelism to be limited to the pulpit; I want to do the work of an evangelist as well. More, not less, proclamation is needed.

So, what’s happening with that desire? Well, I think I’m learning (again!) two vital lessons.

First, desiring something ain’t the same thing as doing something. Not by a long shot. And while I know that sounds like a rather obvious thing to say, in my case it needs saying. Desire has to be translated into specific plans and actions. I’m looking up nearly 30 days after expressing that desire and only once have I personally shared the gospel with someone. Aaaargh!!!

Second, I’m learning again that faithful evangelism requires putting to death the fear of man. Will I ever stop having that halting tightness in my chest? Will those hesitation-inducing thoughts of rejection and offense ever fade away? You know, probably not. I’m likely to always feel some hesitation and some fear of man when it comes to evangelism. But what am I going to do? Not share the greatest news the world has ever received? No. I’m going to remember Romans 1:16, Philemon 6, and Hebrews 10:38-39, and other such texts which encourage, admonish, promise, and guide.

 

Read Full Post »

John Ensor and Scott Klusendorf interview John Piper on the Gospel and Abortion.

If you want to watch it in smaller parts, click here.

Read Full Post »

He is near.

As Lore Ferguson reminds us:

1. His nearness is not a feeling, it is a truth. 

“The eyes of the LORD are toward the righteous and his ears toward their cry.” Psalm 34:15

2. We know it’s true because his Word can be trusted.

“For the word of the LORD is true, and all his work is done in faithfulness.” Psalm 33:4

3. We can trust his Word because his Word does not return void.

“So shall my word be that goes out from my mouth; it shall not return to me empty,
but it shall accomplish that which I purpose, and shall succeed in the thing for which I sent it.” Isaiah 55:11

Read the whole article here.

Read Full Post »

On January 31, 2013 it will have been 121 years since the great preacher, Charles Haddon Spurgeon passed away. In memory of him Born to Reform bring to you 32 things you might not know about Charles Spurgeon. Here’s #1

1. One woman was converted through reading a single page of one of Spurgeon’s sermons wrapped around some butter she had bought.

Read the other 31 here.

Read Full Post »