Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for February 25th, 2013

C. Everett Koop, who served as Surgeon General under President Ronald Reagan, passed away today, February 25, 2013.   He was born in 1916. He was saved at Tenth Presbyterian Church in Philadelphia and he had a long friendship with Francis Schaeffer.

Dr. Koop explained during a Wheaton interview the way in which he would bring his Christian worldview to bear upon his own view of surgery and care for the family. He would always tell the families:

Let me assure you that if I thought that I was walking into that operating room in my own steam, my own power, my own knowledge and was going to operate upon your child—and its survival depended upon me—I wouldn’t open the door. I believe that I am a servant of the Lord and that I am going to that operating room with gifts that he has given me. But your child is in his hands, and he will guide me, and I will let you know everything I can about the future of your child.

Read more about Dr. Koop’s life in this piece by Justin Taylor.

Read Full Post »

“But the meek shall inherit the land and delight themselves in abundant peace.” (Psalm 37:11, ESV)

“O that men did but know what provision there is made for them in the Gospel of Christ! In, and with Christ, there is all that we can want, for body or for soul, for time or for eternity———Only let us seek to be washed in his blood, to be renewed by his Spirit, and to live altogether by faith on him; and we shall find such rich supplies, such heavenly consolations, such a fulness of all spiritual and eternal blessings, as shall far surpass all that the carnal eye has ever seen, and all that the carnal imagination has ever conceived. . . .

Contemplate the state of those who are now in heaven; how free from care, and how completely happy in the fruition of their God! Such in a measure may our state be even in this present world. Those who believe in Christ are privileged to rejoice in him, yea, and many do “rejoice in him, with joy unspeakable and glorified.” By committing themselves, and all their concerns, to him, “their very thoughts, which are naturally as fluctuating as the wind, are established.” O Believers, live not below your privileges: carry every thing to your adorable Saviour, and expect from him all that infinite love can give, and all that Omnipotence can effect. “All things are yours, if ye are Christ’s;” even “death itself, as well as life, is among your treasures:” and soon shall all the glory and felicity of heaven be your unalienable and everlasting possession.”

Simeon, Charles (1836). Horae Homileticae Vol. 5: Psalms, I–LXXII (298). London: Samuel Holdsworth.

Read Full Post »

A beautiful meditation from Paul Tautages today:

Psalm 23 is comfort food for the weary soul. Read it, meditate on it, and rest in these simple truths.

  • My Shepherd adequately supplies all of my needs.
  • My Shepherd is the only sure cause of contentment.
  • My Shepherd leads me and satisfies my deepest thirst for wholeness.
  • My Shepherd is the only one who can fully restore the inner person, my soul.
  • My Shepherd desires my practical holiness and will do whatever it takes to lead me there for the sake of His Name.
  • My Shepherd never leaves my side and will never forsake me.
  • My Shepherd provides for my safety; therefore, I have no legitimate cause for fear.
  • My Shepherd’s rod of discipline and staff of protection both bring me comfort.
  • My Shepherd abundantly lavishes His grace upon me when the wolves attack.
  • My Shepherd binds up my broken bones and heals my wounds; His supply and care are abundant.
  • My Shepherd’s goodness and grace will be by my side from now, until death, and throughout eternity.

“I am the good shepherd. I know my own and my own know me, just as the Father knows me and I know the Father; and I lay down my life for the sheep” (John 10:14-15).

Read Full Post »

A prayer for victory

Part of Scotty Smith’s prayer on “A Victorious Prayer and a Fleeing Devil”

“Father, teach me more about resisting the devil with the gospel. Only the gospel frees us to see and own our weakness and susceptibility to the devil’s schemes. I purpose not to be sucker-punched by my arrogance and pride. Indeed, I need the gospel today as much as I did the first day you declared me to be righteous in your sight. I trust you in this moment for all the grace I’ll need to live for your glory this very day.

Accordingly, Lord Jesus, right now I submit to you as my Prophet, Priest, and King. You are our wisdom, our righteousness, our holiness and our redemption from God (1 Cor. 1:30). I boast in you plus nothing, for my standing and protection from God; for there’s nothing boast-worthy in me.

I’ll resist the devil’s deceitful and damning ways by looking unto you, Lord Jesus, pondering your beauty and bounty; your mercy and your might; your victory over evil and death, and your authority over all things.

With the eye of faith, I set my gaze on you, the author and perfecter of our faith (Heb. 12:2). I’m not even going to glance at the devil as he flees, and flee he must. So very Amen I pray, in your powerful and triumphant name.

Read Full Post »