Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for January 12th, 2010

“In Sin’s Dark Dungeon”

In sin’s dark dungeon lying
A helpless captive I,
My conscience crucifying,
Heave sigh on weary sigh.
My mortal wound no balm can find,
No help I see around me,
Or solace for my mind.

The Law with heavy lashes
Chastised me for my sin,
Brought me to dust and ashes
With cruel discipline.
No hope I saw; my case was lost,
My heart was bowed with sorrow;
My spirit tempest-tossed.

But Thou dist hear my groaning
And hasting to my aid,
For Thy poor child atoning
Thy sacrifice was made.
The spotless soul was chastened sore
That I should be delivered –
Reclaimed forevermore.

My pains by Thee were taken,
That healing might be mine.
In darkness Thou, forsaken,
Gav’st light on me to shine.
The chastisement on Thee was laid,
Wounded for my transgressions,
And thus my debt was paid.

My heart with grief is stricken
When I survey Thy woes.
Oh! That my love may quicken
To guage how much it owes!
The grief I caused Thee I lament,
My sin has brought Thee sorrow.
Oh! How I now repent.

Hallgrímur Pétursson (1614–1674), Hymns of the Passion: Meditations on the Passion of Christ (translated by Arthur C. Gook, 1978).

HT:  Tony Reinke

Read Full Post »

For although they knew God, they did not honor him as God or give thanks to him, but they became futile in their thinking, and their foolish hearts were darkened. Claiming to be wise, they became fools, and exchanged the glory of the immortal God for images resembling mortal man and birds and animals and creeping things. ” (Romans 1:21–23, ESV).

This is what is happening more in more in our society.  Two articles by Albert Mohler reveal two instances of this happening in the new religion of environmentalism:

Maybe as Kermit the Frog sang, “It’s not easy being green?”Do you suffer from green guilt?

And what are we going to do with Flipper?  Should dolpins be considered non-human persons?

Read Full Post »

Proverbs: two ways to live

As I am preparing for preaching a series on Proverbs I am using a newer commentary on Proverbs by John A. Kitchen (Mentor, 2006). In the appendix of his commentary, Kitchen has written a very useful systemization and summary of the path of the righteous and the path of the fool (pp. 727–736). Kitchen uses three graphics to distinguish the two paths and the several steps along the way.

The explanations behind these charts are developed in the commentary appendix.

I learned about this commentary from C. J. Mahaney who, due to the graciousness of the editors of Christian Focus,  posted with permission the entire appendix here as a downloadable PDF (2.4MB).

Read Full Post »

  • Scripture:  “Confirm to your servant your promise, that you may be feared. ” (Psalm 119:38)
  • Prayer:  “Teach me your way, O Lord, that I may walk in your truth; unite my heart to fear your name. ” (Psalm 86:11)
  • Parents:  “Come, O children, listen to me; I will teach you the fear of the Lord. ” (Psalm 34:11)

Read Full Post »